Me, programs, examinations and coursework.

Fujitsu LifeBook 2013

This just came in from one of my friends, Andrew; he’s posted this on Facebook and I did a bit of research and got wowed.

This is a concept Fujitsu LifeBook 2013. As far as I know, it has no affiliation with Fujitsu, but yet the concept itself already beats Apple’s revolutionary products. And I’m a big fan of Apple, so this is saying something.

From what I’ve read, it seems that actually, this laptop requires all the individual components to be utilised. Instead of the space for a keyboard, there’s a massive gaping hole? Why? It’s designed to fit the tablet. So all that happens is you slide the tablet into the slot and it recognises that it’s in the laptop and turns itself into a keyboard. It also starts syncing data with the computer. Cool, ne?

Also, the camera is part of the back and I’m assuming that it can be used directly from the computer too, like a webcam. This beats anything that I’ve seen before; imagine, having a one-point access to all your devices and saving precious space. Where I live, space is money.

This also means that there are no more messy wires. If this comes into mass production, then I can say goodbye to my old Apple sync wire and hello to my new laptop. While Alex and Lawrence aren’t too keen on this idea, I have to say that this concept is certainly what I’d like to be using in the future.

The only obvious drawback that I can see with this is if you lose a part. So if I lost the tablet, not only would I probably have lost the tablet and its cool features that it will probably have, I’d have lost the keyboard to my laptop too. And not the laptop, but only the keyboard. That’s kind of annoying and depressing.

Information and images from: http://tablet-news.com/2012/01/17/fujitsu-lifebook-2013-concept-incorporates-a-tablet-for-a-keyboard-phone-and-digital-camera/

Leave a Reply

